Founders and History

DST founders

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University and incorporated in 1930. These students wanted to use their  collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need. The first public act performed by our beloved  Founders took place barely two months after the founding of our sorority, when they participated in the Women’s Suffrage March held in Washington D.C. in March 1913.

A sisterhood of more than 200,000 predominately Black college educated women, the Sorority currently has over 900 chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas and the Republic of Korea. The major programs of the sorority are based upon the sorority’s Five Point Programmatic Thrust:

•   Economic Development
•   Educational Development
•   International Awareness and Involvement
•   Physical and Mental Health
•   Political Awareness and Involvement

For more information about Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.  visit  our National website at